‘Love is Blind’ is better when it pretends fat people don’t exist

As a fat person, I need to know from the jump you’re into alllll this. I don’t need you to love me despite my body. It’s all part of the package.

Kate Bernyk
5 min readMar 8, 2022

Look, we all have our guilty pleasures. I wouldn’t even say reality TV is a guilty pleasure for me because I talk about my love for the ridiculous pretty openly. In this absolute trash fire of a timeline, whomst among us wouldn’t enjoy following along the misadventures of some tragically overprivileged humans.

So I’m not ashamed to say I watched both seasons of “Love is Blind.” For those of you who need a bit of a primer — “Love is Blind” is a Netflix reality show that starts off with 15 men and 15 women from the same city, separated into different living quarters. For 10 days, they “date” each other by talking through isolation pods where they can hear each other, but cannot see each other. If by the end of the 10 days (or in some cases, before even that), some pair off and decide they love each other, they GET ENGAGED. It’s only then they are able to reveal their corporeal forms. The rest of the show is a short beach vacation with the other engaged couples to get to know each other better, followed by two weeks of cohabiting and meeting the families before walking…

--

--

Kate Bernyk

comms strategist. occasional writer. birth control aficionado. insomniac embroiderer. fat babe.